Making Mistakes

A life spent making mistakes is not only more honourable  but more useful than a life spent doing nothing. ~ George Bernard Shaw

 

I read something on Facebook today that got me thinking. It was “Make mistakes now. Making them later will be too late.”

We all make mistakes in our lives. Some small and some so big that they end up changing the entire track of our life. We always try not to make mistakes and do the best possible to avoid them. But they always creep up behind our back and wham! They are there. smirking smack at our face.

But as quoted above, a life without mistakes is a life with nothing done. Though I don’t believe there is anybody who has not made mistakes.

Then why are we so afraid of making mistakes? We know they would nearly always happen. Then why the fear?

I have made big mistakes in my life. And when I say big I mean B-I-G mistakes. And the biggest reason for this was that I was trying to not make a mistake. And in this process I ended up turning my life upside down. At that point of time I thought that this was the end of my life and I have absolutely nothing to look forward to. I came to a dead end.

But today, when I look back at those times in my life, I smile and realise how strong those mistakes made me. I had never been the ‘serious in life’ type. I still am not. But that dead end gave me the nudge that I desperately needed to get myself back on track and grow up. It made me realise how I am the only person who can help myself.

It made me lose the fear of making mistakes. Now when I want to do something I just do it.  I know I may screw up some things in the process, but what the hell! At least I enjoy life to my hearts content. Because I know that not doing something would  just make me regret it.

I’v stopped looking at them as mistakes. They are lessons that life taught me the hard way. Lessons that I really needed. My mistakes have been stepping stones in my life. I’m glad I made them. Because they are what made me who I am today.

I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed. ~ Michael Jordan

Leave a comment