Listening To Your Heart

alain-pelletier-follow-your-dreams

I sometimes really wish my life had a reverse button, so that I can go back in time and maybe do things a little differently. Take a different decision, or be a little more compassionate to some people or follow my heart without listening to what people said.

We all have dreams. From a dream profession to a dream wedding, we’v all been there and done that. We all have had that fire in our belly to just go and get that one thing we always dreamed of. And in many cases, that fire is extinguished by the many ‘well meaning’ friends, relatives and well wishers.

No matter what you do, there would always be people around you who would try and stop you from following your heart for lots of reasons. Some reasons are practical but some are just out rightly stupid and superstitious.

I’v actually had some people tell me not do something because my so called “stars” would not let me be successful in that field. I admit I’v been disheartened many a times by listening to such negative feedbacks and have at times listened to these ‘well meaning’ people and given up what I wanted to do.

 And now when I go into flash back and remember all those things, I regret my decision of not listening to my heart. The regret is not because I did not do something, it is because I did not even try to follow my heart. 

I now wonder If I had tried to do what my heart said, there could have been a good enough chance for me being happy. If only I had the courage to just let these people go to hell and dance my way to my dream. 

The point is, at every stage in your life when you are about to take any major decision, there would be endless people around you who will try and get you to change your mind. Listen to them all but always follow your heart.

I, with all my experience can tell you that the regret of not trying would hurt you way more than the pain of failure. Just follow your heart. There is plenty of time in life to follow what people around you say. They may make your life hell at times if you don’t listen to them (In my case these people are usually my parents :P), but don’t worry. Maybe you would fail and not get what you wanted. Maybe life has something even better for you than this.But at least give it one chance. 

Shut out any person who is trying to stop you. Because at the end of the day it was never between you and them. It was always been you and your dream.

 

dream 1

 

4 thoughts on “Listening To Your Heart

  1. I can truly relate to this. In fact, everything you just wrote applies to me except that I am living around the negative feedback now. Sometimes I don’t even know what the right feedback is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

