Race Against Time- Part 2

1425661_682301551790789_523972659_n

You can read Part 1 of this post here

We were standing on the platform at 5 in the evening thinking we would catch the train.

If only I could explain to how the look uncle and my dad gave me and Mj. It was neither angry nor amused. I just couldn’t put a finger on what kind of expression it was.  And all this was because we had booked these tickets two months back and did not notice this huge  error.

After these two grown ups cribbed about “how the kids these days can do no job correctly” and ”it is a mistake to leave any job for us”, dad suggested that we catch the next bus that leaves for New Delhi. So we headed toward the inter state bus terminal. On the way we also tried our luck at finding any air tickets but all were sold out.

Me and Mj just quietly listened all the cribbing and vowed never to book another train ticket in our life. Well this vow was actually taken by Mj because according to uncle this was the third time he had made such an error. And the worst part is, dad and uncle had almost cancelled this trip so just me and Mj were supposed to come here. I just could not imagine what would have been their reaction to this blunder if it would have been just the two of us here.

We reached the bus terminal and booked our tickets for the bus that left Amritsar at 9:30 pm. Uncle and dad glared at us saying that we would have crossed more than half our journey by that time if we had not missed the train.

But now, there was nothing for us to do but wait around for another 4 hours before we boarded the bus. And the things that popped in my mind on hearing that were Pictures of the Gurudwara at night, Punjabi Jutti’s, and Amritsari fish fry.

Yeah sure I was upset and all about the train thing but the excitement of being able to spend another 4 hours in Amritsar was way more overpowering

So we took a rickshaw and headed back to the gurudwara where me n Mj happily clicked away for another one hour, and this time without being hurried along.

And then came the jutti’s. I went bonkers with all the designs and colours. (Tip- If you ever visit Amritsar, make sure you buy a pretty pair of embroidered jutti. They are beautiful. Oh! and for all those who don’t know this, Jutti’s are the Indian version of ballerina’s)

I would have spent a lot more time browsing through the various designs had I not been accompanied by three men who kept pointing to me that all looked same and I should hurry up and buy whichever I liked.

So I bought a beautiful pink pair and then we rushed to the supposedly best restaurant which served some great fish fry. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement. Iv had way much better fish fry in Delhi. We kept complaining about the fish only to discover that we were again late for the bus. And this time there was no rickshaw to take us to the terminal.

We could not spot a single rickshaw, and uncle suggested that we start walking towards the terminal and look for the rickshaw in the way. He said we should walk but believe me we ran. And we ran like people possessed. I bless my stars that we found a rickshaw within 3 minutes of running or else we would have to leave my dad behind because he really is not the running kind of person.

We reached the bus terminal in good time, found our bus and crashed into the reclining seats , hoping and praying that nobody sits behind us so that we can recline the seats as far as possible and  sleep all the way.

We could not. Because the bus was full and me n Mj just could not go to sleep, so we chatted all the way and fell asleep for like just two hours. We reached Delhi at 5 in the morning. And from the bus terminal we took an auto rickshaw to the railway station where we had parked our car and finally went back home. I don’t remember much after that cause I reached home, kept my bag on the side table and knocked out on my bed for the next 12 hours.

Leave a Reply

