The Indian Wedding- The Bride’s Side- Part 1

IMG_2785

I’m sorry for not being active here and completely avoiding my poor blog, but these last 15 days were choked full of my ‘Things To Do List’ and I barely managed any time to even sit down and breathe. I’v been juggling my college, my cousin’s wedding, my friends wedding and my photography assignments all at the same time. Believe me I look like a zombie these days. But more on that later. ๐Ÿ˜›

I’v been so involved in weddings these days, that I thought I’l share with you guys what all actually happens in an Indian wedding that everybody is exhausted by the time the wedding is over.

Let’s begin with the bride’s side. Though the rituals are ย more or less the same at both the bride and the groom’s side, I personally feel that the bride’s side has more fun!

The actual rituals where the bride is involved begin after the Sagan Ceremony. At this particular ceremony, the bride and the groom are given gits from their respective “To be in-law’s”. It marks the beginning of the actual wedding ceremonies.

Both the bride and the groom sit down for a Pooja and are then bestowed with gifts.

Next comes the Mehendi and Sangeet Function which is usually held a day before the wedding. These day’s this is an elaborate function usually with cocktails. In earlier times, these were very small homely functions where the bride used to apply mehendi on her hands and feet and the women sang wedding songs and thus created that atmosphere of a “Vyah da ghar” which means the wedding home.

Now, this function is a BIG thing for everybody and usually the most enjoyable one as most of the family is relaxed at this time and is having a good time dancing and stuffing their face with the chicken tikka’s and malai paneer!

IMG_2691I love the mehendi function. More so because I love mehendi so much! The bride and all the women in the family apply mehendi on their hands and the designs are so pretty! And this is when the all the husband’s would lovingly feed their wives all the yummy food that is being served at the wedding, and move their hair away from their face as the wives can’t touch anything otherwise their mehendi would get smeared and the designs would be ruined. It takes about half an hour to 2 hours for the mehendi to dry depending upon the weather, and the amount of mehendi applied.

Usually the mehendi is held in the afternoon so that the bride and ladies can enjoy the sangeet night where the actual wedding party begins. And the sangeet night is when everybody goes bonkers! They dance and laugh and enjoy themselves to the core. The music does not stop till the time everybody is drop dead tired and can barely lift a finger.

I’m about to cover one such fun mehendi and sangeet night in a few days. And i’m sure I’m gonna have ton loads of fun! I’l tell you more about it when I come back from there. ๐Ÿ™‚

Pictures- Clickaholicks

2 thoughts on “The Indian Wedding- The Bride’s Side- Part 1

Leave a Reply

