For The Love Of Mangoes

100_4047

 

This is a picture of me when I was 6 months old and we were visiting my mom’s hometown. My mom is holding me up while my aunt feeds me a mango.

My mom tells me I barely ate anything else there but the moment a mango touched my lips, gorged on it.

I have always loved mangoes. Loved it from the deep down core of my heart. It’s the one fruit which when I bite into, my whole body just glows!

Give me a glass of Aamras (Fresh mango juice) and I enter into a trance.

Mango is considered the king of fruits. And in India where more than 500 varieties of this fruit are available, it’s nearly impossible to not have them.

And when the summer’s roll in, you can find nearly every eatery in India creating and  innovating new dishes which incorporate mango’s. There is mango rabri, mango lassi, mango rice, chicken in green mango, Mango raita, mango salads and what not.

In my home, mango shake is a staple drink every morning. It’s like a rule which has been followed for years. We begin the day with mango shake at breakfast and end it with freshly cut mango and ice cream for dessert after dinner.

I recently found this quote on the internet-

“Mango is like a drug. You must have more and more and more of the Mango until there is no Mango left. Not even for Mango!”

And this is kinda is true for me. Every year when mango season comes, I get addicted to the sweet, juicy, pulpy fruit. And every year it seems like this addiction is getting stronger.

Despite the fact that mango’s are sinfully sweet and have a comparatively higher caloric value than other fruits, and I’m supposed to lose the extra weight I’v gained during my exams, I just dive into the sweetness provided to me so lovingly by this fruit.

I wait every year for this fruit to come back and when the mango season ends, believe me I’m inconsolable.

If you ever come to India during the summer’s, do try this fruit. I’v tried mango’s from other countries when I traveled there, but they were not as sweet as the mangoes found in India.

It probably because India is a tropical country and the climate is favorable for the bumper produce for this fruit.

I remember when we went to London to visit family, my dad filled half of his suitcase with mango’s and took it it with us. Our family there was so surprised when we opened his suitcase. But the mango’s we took with us were so heavenly, that all of them vanished withing a couple of days. And now, every time somebody from India visits them, they make it a point to take mango’s for them!

India has numerous varieties of this fruit with every state producing a top class variety. I’m yet to try a major part of these, but I’m on my way to taste every variety that is being produced. The most famous one which is exported worldwide is the Alphonso.

But there are mango’s which are sweeter and juicier than the Alphonso, but they have a very little shelf life and can’t be exported.

And right now, I’m sitting in office, savoring this wonder fruit that I bought with me in a lunch box and I’m falling even more deeply in love with it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

