What’s In A Name

children-name-naming-baby_names-shouts-baby-bstn354l

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet.”

The above lines by Shakespeare are pretty true. But I recently saw that when it comes to naming your child, a mere name becomes a really big deal. One of my friend’s sister just had a baby girl and to name that baby is probably the top most agenda in that house these days.

The child is just called baby as of now because even a pet names needs to be thought of! The parent’s of that baby girl have gone through endless baby name books but have not come up with anything. And since pre-natal sex determination is illegal in India, (Why you ask? Oh! because this country is full of illiterate dumb asses) they had shortlisted endless names for boy’s and girl’s way before the baby was born.

And now as they have just 50% of those names to go through, they are looking into every aspect of every name they shortlisted. Right from it’s meaning to whether it would end up in some weird pet name when the child is in school.

The name should be different but not too complicated. It should be meaningful and should be versatile enough to be part of the child’s personality. It does seem to be a pretty mammoth task. Of the infinite names in this world, choosing that one perfect name for your child can be really unnerving.

My parents went through the same ordeal when I was born. Both my parents have names which are pretty common in their generation and they both had lots of people in their class all through school and college with whom they shared their name. So my mom was adamant that for me she would chose a name which is so unique that people would rarely find any other person with that name.

My pet name was decided the day I was born. I am called “money” by everyone in my family simply because the headline of the newspapers on the day I was born were “Money Market Crashes.”

My mom researched for nearly a year as my name was finalized on my first birthday, and that too because they needed a name to write on the cake. 😛

All our family finally came to know what name was chosen for me when they came to our place and saw it written with colorful ribbons in big letter’s on the wall “Happy Birthday Urshita”

Urshita.This was the name chosen by my mom for me. An Indian origin name meaning firm or decisive. My mom has been really successful in finding a unique name for me because all through school and college and now during post graduation, I am yet to meet another Urshita or a person who know’s another Urshita. It’s a rare name with very few people going for it. And I’m really glad I have a unique name. It’s the best conversation starter anywhere. I’v been to countless interviews where the only questions I was asked were about my name!

And since my mom had decided my name, my sister’s name was decided by my Dad. He picked up a baby names book and the first name he found there was decided as my sister’s name, ‘Aakriti’.

Little did he know that this name would be a favorite with all the other parents as well because there are quite a lot of Aakriti’s out there. One of my closest friend’s name is Aakriti! And there were I guess two more Aakriti’s in my class. My sister had a couple of other Aakriti’s in her class as well.

Her name was also the first one to be called during viva tests because alphabetically she was roll number 1. And she pretty much hated sitting on the first bench in every exam all through school because her roll number had always been 1.

Now in college she has a roll number somewhere in 20’s and she could not have been more happier.

So now when I hear of those new parents, I can feel the pressure they must be under because had I been given a name which was very common or like totally weird, I would have been pissed with my parents all life long. So all the best to those two. May they find a name which is best suited for their little bundle of joy. 🙂

Funny-cartoon-Ill-name-her

Leave a Reply

