Let’s Meet The Future Son In Law

So my cousin recently announced her engagement. It’s a big occasion for the family and everybody had their share of things to be excited about. For her parents, they are glad to have a child finally heading towards settling in happy matrimony. For my grandparents, their first grandchild is getting married and they are thankful to god for letting them be a part of it. My parents are happy for her parents i.e. my dad’s brother and his wife.

As for us brother’s and sister’s, we are just excited about the shopping and the new clothes and the open bar. 😛

Of course we’re happy for her, but when it comes to weddings, I tend to get more excited about the fact that I get to buy new clothes!

And if you think the matter ends here, then you’re wrong. How can a wedding be fixed in India without the whole extended family being involved? Oh no sir!

We first need to meet the future son in law. And by ‘we’ I mean the entire family. Yes. The WHOLE family will meet the boy and his parents. Even though my uncle and aunt have already paid a visit to his house and met his parents, but we still need to get everybody’s opinion.

And let me tell you, meeting the future son in law is a very big deal here. Because in our culture the son in law is an extremely important person.

So to meet him and his family, a date and venue was decided. And since me and my sister have already met this guy a couple of times, we stepped back from attending the Oh So important meeting!

My grandma took things so seriously that she called up my mom to ask whether she should wear a sari or not! To which my mom casually replied that it was too hot to take care of the sari and besides it was not that big a deal.

To this my grandma very gravely replied that meeting the future son in law is a very important task. It should not and would not be taken lightly.

The finest cashew nut Barfi was ordered and everybody was ready before time. For my family, getting ready on time is an impossible task. So getting ready before time was a miracle!

Before leaving my grandma went over every preparation once again.

Sweets packed and kept in the car. Check. Sagan envelopes. Check. Everybody’s clothes perfectly ironed. Check.

Quickly everybody sat in the cars and off they went to meet the future damaad ji.

Four hours and a dinner later they all came back with such mega watt smiles on their face that me and my sister could barely wait to get the feedback.

The boy had passed with flying colors. His family was declared very decent and proper and his parents were highly appreciated.

I and my sister looked at each and laughed thinking about the actual engagement ceremony that is to be held in some months. If a casual meeting with the future son in law is such an hyped event, then the engagement is surely going to be one hell of a party.

Leave a Reply

