A Balm For The Aching Heart

You can read the first two parts of this series here-

1. Love at First Site

2. The fine line between love and infatuation

 

I wake up to the sound of rain drops falling hard on my window. For me it’s the best possible sound to wake up to. I get up and look outside. It looks beautiful. It seems like it’s been raining for some time. I can see water logged on the road outside my home.

I quickly brush my teeth, pick up a towel and rush to my terrace. It’s going to be a shower in the rain today.

I step out in the rain and relish the feeling of the rain drops falling on my skin. The rain seems to cleanse my soul.

I had gone back to Rashi’s house when she told me that the video made at the wedding had arrived. There was some problem at the photographer’s end which lead to the delay in us getting the film. I had waited so long for it.

And my patience was rewarded.

He was there in this beautiful wedding film. Talking happily about his friend and wishing him all the best for his future.

His voice made me smile. I loved the way he was laughing and teasing Rashi’s brother. His laughter was way more endearing to me than his smile. I had taken a copy of the film back to my place saying that I had to show it to my family.

I listened to that 47 second clip of him talking innumerable times. I knew everything he said by heart.

Even now, standing here, drenched, I can feel his voice around me. The rains always have a weird effect on me. Every time it rains my brain turns into a Bollywood songs playlist and every single song picturized in the rains starts playing in my head.

And since the love bug has apparently bitten me I can almost see Vivek standing next to me and humming a romantic number.

It’s so frustrating sometimes. All I can think of is him. My heart aches to talk to him. I want to know more about him. Know his likes and dislikes. Watch him smile and laugh with him.

I know this is possibly the stupidest thing I’v ever done or thought, because being in love with someone you’ve never met is insane.

I look up towards the sky and close my eyes. I can feel the rain drops on my face.

Rains have always been my dear friend. And this time too they sooth my aching heart.

One thought on “A Balm For The Aching Heart

  1. Pingback: The Wait | The World Through My Eyes...

Leave a Reply

