Embracing My Flaws

Get flawless skin with just one swipe of the miracle foundation. It reduces the appearance of pores and blemishes and makes you look up to 5 years younger.”

I’m sure all of you have at some time or the other heard these lines on the TV or radio. Or maybe read them in some fashion magazine with the close up photograph of a model or actress’s face whose skin looks so smooth that you could ski down her cheeks!

Flawless skin.  Which woman does not want that? Glowing, flawless skin and a complexion so fair that other women envy you.

And in this age of cosmetics and make up, it really isn’t a tough job to get that perfect skin, sultry lips and magnetic eyes.

All you need to do is rush to your nearest mall and get a handful of cosmetics. Then come back home and go through the endless make up tutorials on YouTube that would teach you how to get that flawless look with all these cosmetics. And then go color your face as if it was a blank canvas.

I’ve seen women with layers of make up, who look so flawless that I sometimes wonder if their skin has ever been exposed to natural light and air without a barrier of foundation and powder!

And the best thing I’ve seen online is the makeup tutorial for “A no makeup natural look”. This woman used a bunch of foundations and concealers and what not to make her face look like she had flawless skin without any make up!!

I might sound old school but I would rather eat healthy and treat my skin with natural stuff like turmeric and sandalwood so that it naturally looks healthy and bright rather than slather on some foundation and powder and look “Fake Flawless”.

This is also because I have a very sensitive skin that tends to react to anything I use on it. I can barely find a decent moisturizer that won’t give me rashes.

But recently with the help of my friends who are into makeup and stuff, I’ve found some make up brands that don’t break my skin. So after spending nearly 2 decades of my life without any make up, I’ve found stuff which has a little less harsh chemicals.

Yes, I’m really happy with my finds and I have learned how to use all this makeup, but something inside me just does not allow me to get into this routine of slathering my face every day with all this stuff.  Sometimes for special occasions yes, but not every day.

Because all this make up and looking pretty is just on the exterior.  Every day when you come home and remove all these layers, you see the real you in the mirror. The dark circles, the blemishes, the scars. I know it would break my heart to see myself going from fab to drab.

And what if people get so used to looking at me with make up on that someday when they see me without even a scrap of makeup on my face, they fail to recognize me!!

This is not the fruit of my wild imagination. I’ve seen women who without make up almost look like they’re unwell. And that’s because I was so used to seeing them with so much mascara and eyeliner and foundations and what not, that without any make up, the perfect image kind of shattered.

Isn’t it more practical and healthy that instead of hiding beneath all these layers, we confront our imperfections and embrace them? And then try to internally correct them through a healthier lifestyle?

I go to work every day with just a sun screen on my face. Though for me it was because I could never use any make up, I found out that I’m far more confident with a bare face than most other girls my age. I don’t need some cosmetics to help me look and feel beautiful.

My sensitive skin turned out to be the biggest blessing in disguise for me. Because I’ve realized that I’d rather be bare faced and look weird than depend on some cosmetics to take me towards temporary perfection.

The only important thing is that you love yourself. If you fall in love with your flaws, you realize that these flaws, are big part of your personality. Physically as well and emotionally. And once you embrace your imperfections, you’ll see how beautiful you are.

 

Leave a Reply

