The Wait

You can read the first three parts of this series here:

Love At First Site

The Fine Line Between Love And Infactuation

A Balm For The Aching Heart

 

Rashi and I were lazing on her deck. A pitcher of lemonade by our side, we sat there admiring the beauty of the rain that cleansed the tress and made everything look so serene.

We both dozed off for a good half hour only to be woken by the sound of thunder.

I get up and stretch myself. Rashi has dozed off again but sleep eludes me now. I go inside to get some food from the pantry. All this nature admiring has made me hungry.

I grab two bags of chips and start walking back towards the deck when I hear a familiar voice. A voice that gives me goose bumps.

It’s him. I hear his voice.

“You’ve lost it girl”, my brain tells me. How can he be here? He’s supposed to be in London.

I start walking again when I hear Rashi’s brother Siddharth’s voice. I’m standing outside his room. “So when are you planning to come to Delhi?” He asks.

“Next week. I’ll be there for a month. I need a much deserved vacation. I’ve been working nonstop and they gave me just 5 days off for your wedding.  So now I’m going to just relax and not do anything but eat and sleep.”

I peep into Siddharth’s room and see that he’s having a video chat. And I see Vivek’s face on the Ipad screen.

Oh! My! God!

Does this mean Vivek is coming to India?

“Awesome. We could barely hang out together during the wedding madness. Just mail me all your flight details. I’ll pick you up from the airport.” I hear Siddharth reply.

My heart somersaults inside my chest and I try not to scream out of joy.

He’s coming! He’s actually coming to India. I can finally look at him in person. Swoon over his voice and fall in love with those eyes.

I obviously don’t know if I would be able to meet him or not but I assure my heart that if he’s here for a month, I’ll surely meet him some way.

I’m so happy I barely know what to think.

“Did you find gold in that bag of chips?” I hear Rashi’s voice call out to me.

“What?” I ask still dazed with all this joy.

“Then why the hell are you flashing such huge smiles?”

That is when I realize I’ve walked all the way to the deck without even realizing where I’m going.

“Pull yourself together girl. You’re acting like a nutcase.” My brain chides me.

I shake my head at her and give her those chips. I’m far too excited to be hungry now. She digs right into them.

He’s just a few days away.

And for me, these few days are going to feel like a lifetime.

 

Leave a Reply

