After Party

IMG_9547

It’s been two days since the engagement party and I still can’t completely feel my toes. My killer heels actually killed every sensation in my feet. I didn’t really dance much because there were so many people to meet and so much to do. I just kept running all over the venue to click pictures and meet family. And yet toward the end I ended up holding the heels in one hand and walking around barefoot.

That evening had all the elements of a crazy Indian wedding function.

We had a minor accident the night before the big day (Yours truly touched a naked wire and almost got slapped by my aunt for being so foolish. All the kids were then warned to be safe).

We had a nervous, jittery bride who came almost crying from the salon because she hated her look and the way the sari was draped. Though it was nothing a few cotton balls and safety pins couldn’t correct. Some anxious blabbering a few tears did help her though. 😛

All the guests arrived and the bride’s grandmother was still not there because the car she was in took a wrong turn and ended up taking a detour of nearly 2 miles.

But together it created the drama that is required to make a party successful. I somehow feel that it’s not really an Indian wedding function if till the last moment everybody is not panicky and running here and there to get things done.

And the feeling of watching your sister getting engaged is so surreal. You look at this girl standing there glowing like a light bulb, stepping into a new life with a twinkling solitaire, and wonder how old you’ve grown. It seemed like yesterday that we were playing hide and seek in our living room.

Though for me this feeling passed pretty quickly because I could smell the murg malai tikka’s being served around. Food, I tell you, just distracts me from being serious in life.

But the best part of the evening turned out to be the photo booth me and my cousin had organized. People literally went crazy getting their pictures clicked.

And now that I’m going through these pictures, I realize that photo booths work best when people are drunk. Some expressions are just priceless. Sober people rarely ever laugh like crazy while wearing star shaped glasses and neon wigs!

The above picture is a glimpse of it. I’m the one on the extreme left BTW. I barely have 3 or 4 pictures from the entire evening. And now that I think about it, it is probably because most of the time I was just stuffing my face with food and washing it down with some random cocktail instead of posing prettily and getting some decent picture clicked of me.

Also, I’ve realized that no amount of hairspray can keep my wild hair in place. Just two hours after the party began my hair was all over the place. Though my sister keeps telling me that it was because I kept touching my hair instead of leaving the delicate hairstyle alone.

Leave a Reply

