Tiny Little Treasures

When I was a little girl, I was what you call a hurricane child. I was always running here and there, banging into stuff and creating a storm everywhere. So it became highly important for my parents to channel my energies into something more constructive. They put me into basket ball, lawn tennis, skating and what not. But every time I came back home bruised and bleeding because I was a very aggressive player, so I always ended up either fighting with other kids.

While they tried all kinds of sports, dance lessons, piano lessons, and what not, what actually caught my fancy was stamp collection.

Those were days when people posted letters and the internet had not taken over. So every time a letter came, I rushed to get the stamp from it. It was not something I did everyday but it always fascinated me. Colorful little squares with pictures that were considered precious.

When I got a little older I understood what mint condition stamps are, first edition and limited stamps are. My dad bought me stamp album and some beautiful limited edition stamps to encourage me to continue the hobby.

Watching my dedication towards collecting stamps, my grandmother gave me a handful of coins. And not ordinary coins, but coins that were used in her youth and she had saved them over the years. Most of these are no more issued so they have become like a collector’s item now.

Over the years I got more coins at dirt cheap price from a dealer in Kurukshetra. The oldest coin I have is of the year 1835 when the British ruled India.

These hobbies were a big part of my life till the time video games and email took over. Once “Road Rash”, “Need For Speed” and “Tomb Raider” came, I forgot all about these precious little treasures I had. I did get stamps sometimes from different countries, but it was never a full blown passion like it used to be.

But now, as I write this post, I feel like I’ve neglected a part of my life. So I got down and searched my entire cupboard and found that old stamp album and a piggy bank where I kept those coins.

Going through them I felt so good! They are a part of my childhood and I shall forever be indebted to my dad and grandma for introducing me to these tiny little treasures.

 

PS:- I just ordered a limited edition “Flowers Of India” stamps collection from the philately department of the post office! Let’s get back to stamp collection! 😀

PPS:- I’m going to show off my riches to everybody now, so kindly bear with my pompousness. 😛

Click on the pictures to enlarge them.

Blog

 

 

 

Blog1

The one on the left is the oldest coin in my collection. The two on the right are ‘One Quarter Anna’s’ from the year 1918 and 1912. They are pretty worn out and the picture’s couldn’t get the engraving clearly 😦

 

 

Blog2

 

 

IMG_6412

 

IMG_6413

 

 

IMG_6418

 

IMG_6421

 

 

 

IMG_6422

 

 

IMG_6425

 

 

 

IMG_6414

 

IMG_6415

 

IMG_6416

 

IMG_6419

 

IMG_6423

 

 

2 thoughts on “Tiny Little Treasures

Leave a Reply

