I wish I could remain A 5 Year Old Forever

you-want-a-piece-of-me

In a couple of day’s I’l be a year older and believe me its not a good feeling.

And for all those out there who think age is just a number, try being a daughter in a Punjabi family which like a good family would at every point in life keep encouraging you to study and get filthy successful, but on the other hand on every visit to the mall or any god forsaken market that sells clothes, your mom or sister’s or aunts or cousins would pick up a blingy ‘you-will-be-blind-if-you-stare-at-me-for-long‘ sari and naughtily point out that they would buy this for your wedding.

Yes, we eat, think, talk, walk, dream, breath and even shit weddings.

And every year when you cut your birthday cake, everybody around you would mentally start counting the years left for you to get married.

And before you think that they are all excited about seeing you settled in life and are therefore planning your wedding, you are wrong. Your wedding would be the biggest excuse for your entire extended clan to shop till they drop and basically bring down their saving by a good 75% .

And that is what is going to happen to me. As girl in her 20’s who is well on her way to getting a professional degree, you tend to generate quite some interest in the eye’s of all the aunties around you.

But since I have two cousin sister’s older than me who according to the unwritten Indian wedding constitution should/would get married before me because for some weird reason, the older sibling gets married first. Until unless obviously a younger sibling finds their soul mate and decides to get married before anybody else in the family. So I can sit back calmly and point at them whenever the word ‘wedding’ is mentioned in front of me.

And yes, I too am interested in all the clothes I’l be buying and all the fun I’l be having at their wedding! 😛

But coming to the point of my growing old. I’m not growing old. At least not mentally. I’m still 5 in my mind and I would go bonkers just at the sight of balloons. And joy rides! And candy! I love candy! And Cartoon Network!

You get the point right?

So that means I’v survived another year in a world which is full of people who love growing up and they love their birthdays. I on the other hand am really not excited about my birthday. Ever. I love everybody else’s birthday. I love planning about them and I love being a part of surprises. I just don’t feel the same way about my birthday. 

Yes. I belong to the minority population of people who are really not bothered about their birthday’s. 

Why you ask?

I have no idea. I just can not get to the terms of celebrating my birthday. When I was young I used to celebrate my birthday at my home with all my friends and relatives. But as I grew up I just could not see any sense in continuing it. 

I do have some crazy friends who for the past couple of years have been throwing surprise birthday parties for me. Thanks Guys! 

But this year I somehow feel Iv really grown up. I mean like REALLY grown up. The number scares me because whenever I planned my life, I thought that by this birthday I would be earning a fat salary and shopping like crazy and maybe go to some exotic location with my friends for vacations. 

But nothing like this has happened. I’m still studying. Iv changed my choice of profession. I’m working in my dad’s office. I’m still not earning. OK, I’m earning but if I ever tell you the figure you would laugh your guts out.

So basically life did a complete U turn for me and I’m just sitting here trying to figure out how to get everything back on track. It’s not bad. I mean I just consider myself awesome and I pretty much don’t worry about stuff much. 😛

But every year on my birthday I just sit down and list down all the good and bad things that happened to me and I always make sure that I count every good thing and blessing that came my way. 

So this year I maybe looking at matrimonial prospects in my family which is like the BIGGEST sign that you’v grown up no matter how much you deny it.

So here’s to another year of actually being 5 years old in your mind but making sure nobody around you notices that. 😛 

Leave a comment